My Person.

“As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” Proverbs 27:17 reads. One of the most important things I’ve ever been told is that it matters who you hang around. This word of wisdom has held so much truth my entire life. You will become like the people you surround yourself with most, so make sure your circle is one of encouragement, love, and truth.

I’ve always had different friends in each phase of life. Athletic friends. Church friends. Guy friends. Girl friends. Cheerleader friends. Nerdy friends. Seasonal friends. Forever friends. Christian friends. “Christian” friends. I’m sure your people flashed across your mind as you read across those stereotypes. I think it’s important to seek out different friend groups. It’s biblical to show yourself friendly. It’s the very call of the Kingdom to love God and love people. The Lord doesn’t want us to be loners and non-social. There are tons of avenues to make friendships and connections with. However, surrounding yourself with the wrong people could be detrimental to your life. Yet, surrounding yourself with the right people could catapult you into your destiny.

I’ve been blessed with one steady friendship that has not wavered in a decade. Out of the several “besties” in different phases of life, only one has remained constant. She’s the most selfless and most supportive person in my life. She’s the mother and wife I aspire to be. This blog exists because she thinks I’m Lisa Bevere’s clone. I may never be a writer for Proverbs 31 ministries or have the privilege for hosting women’s conferences, but she thinks I can. She thinks I will. Sometimes I think she’s happier about my life and my good news than I am. She cries happy tears when I tell her a sappy story about my love life. She doesn’t feed my negativity when I’m annoyed with life. She reminds me of my purpose and the call on my life when I seem to forget. We probably spoil each other more than we spoil our significant others. We sob together during Nashville and Grey’s. She’s left her house in the middle of the night when I’ve called her crying. She prays for me daily. She’s believed God’s promises for my life when all hope has seemed lost. She thinks I’m the funniest human on the planet. She’s legit the biggest confidence booster in the world. I’m not sharing, if you’re asking. But really. I’m so appreciative of the gift of her friendship and love. She is the embodiment of the very nature of Jesus Christ.

These are the kinds of people who are vital for our success. I know without a doubt in my mind that she has prayed me out of the darkest of places and the lowest of lows. I encourage you to build connections and cultivate friendships with people that inspire you to be the best version of yourself, who partner with your visions and dreams, who share in every joy and tragedy that comes your way. What we share is so much deeper than cute pictures and captions on Instagram and ugly saved Snapchat selfies. Check your circle. Do you have at least one friendship like this? Are you this friend to at least one person in your circle? Is it reciprocated? If not, pray and ask the Lord to first make you this friend and then ask him to cause you to cross paths with a friendship that will stand the test of time. It may not be someone that you would typically hang out with. My person could care less about college football. I’ve never read or watched a single Harry Potter anything. I’d rather read; she’d rather sing. Our personalities are polar opposites, but whatever our souls are made of is exactly the same. She is the sister of my soul and the friend to my heart.  I pray that whatever phase of becoming you are in that you are refreshed with a friendship that inspires you to reciprocate.

Philippians 1:3

I thank my God every time I remember you.

Leave a Reply

